Media release

Nominations Open for AMA Public Health Awards

The AMA is seeking nominations of people or groups who have made an extraordinary contribution to health care and public health for the AMA Public Health Awards.

AMA President, Dr Michael Gannon, said that nominations are sought in the following categories:

  • AMA Excellence in Healthcare Award; and
  • AMA Woman in Medicine Award.

“The AMA Excellence in Healthcare Award is for an individual, not necessarily a doctor or AMA member, who has made a significant contribution to improving health or health care in Australia,” Dr Gannon said.

“The person may be involved in health awareness, health policy, or health delivery.

“Nominations for this Award can be submitted by any member of the community.

“Past recipients of this Award include Dr Denis Lennox, for his significant contribution to the training of rural general practitioners and rural generalists, and Associate Professor John Boffa and Ms Donna Ah Chee, for their enormous contribution to reducing harms of alcohol and improving early childhood outcomes for Aboriginal children.”

Nominations are also invited for the AMA Woman in Medicine Award, for a female member of the AMA who has made a major contribution to the medical profession by showing ongoing commitment to quality care, or through her contribution to medical research, public health projects, or improving the availability and accessibility of medical education and training for women, or contributing to medical politics.

“Nominations for this Award may only be made by an AMA member,” Dr Gannon said.

“Previous winners include Dr Genevieve Goulding, a former President of the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists (ANZCA) who has a passion for doctors’ mental health and welfare, and Associate Professor Diane Egerton-Warburton for her exceptional contribution to the development of emergency medicine and her passion for public health.”

More information, including nomination forms, is available at  The closing date for nominations is Monday, 23 April 2018.

The awards will be presented at the 2018 AMA National Conference in Canberra in May. 

5 March 2018

CONTACT:        Maria Hawthorne                02 6270 5478 / 0427 209 753

Follow the AMA Media on Twitter:
Follow the AMA President on Twitter:
Follow Australian Medicine on Twitter:
Like the AMA on Facebook

Related Download

Media Contacts


 02 6270 5478
 0427 209 753

Follow the AMA

‌ @AustralianMedicalAssociation