Professor Brendan Murphy appointed Department of Health Secretary

The AMA has welcomed the announcement this week that the Chief Medical Officer, Professor Brendan Murphy, will be appointed Secretary of the Department of Health.

Professor Murphy will take over from Ms Glenys Beauchamp PSM, Secretary since 2017, whose retirement takes effect from 28 February.

Dr Bartone said that Professor Murphy is an inspired choice as new Secretary.

“Professor Murphy is a medical doctor, a health administrator, a company director, and former President of the Australian and New Zealand Society of Nephrology,” Dr Bartone said.

“He will bring a highly-appropriate and unique mix of skills and experience to his new position.

“The AMA looks forward to working closely with Professor Murphy in further improving health services for the Australian people.”

Professor Murphy will be the first medical doctor to serve as Secretary of the Federal Department of Health. The last doctor to head health was Dr Gwyn Howells, who held the position of Director General from 1973-1982.

Read the full media release here.

Related topics