Meet our new AMACDT Executive

10 Jun 2020

I would like to formally introduce the new Australian Medical Association Council of Doctors in Training (AMACDT) Executive team for 2020-2022.

I assumed the role as Chair at the end of March 2020 and am currently working as a Rheumatology & General Medicine Advanced Trainee in Townsville, Queensland. Dr Rebecca Wood, a PGY7 Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists trainee from Western Australia, and  Dr Laura Raiti, a PGY5 Paediatric Registrar, currently working at the Royal Children’s Hospital in Melbourne, were appointed as AMACDT Deputy Co-Chairs at the beginning of May. 

The AMACDT aims to represent doctors in training at all stages of training, across all specialties, in all parts of the country.  It achieves this by liaising and collaborating with other doctor in training groups, medical colleges and medical education and training organisations on all issues important to DiTs.

In 2020 AMACDTs priority area for advocacy will be calling on the Government to show national leadership through the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) to commit to fund and resource the appropriate agencies to undertake the accreditation of all prevocational training positions to improve the quality of training and support for prevocational doctors not in a College training program.

Evidence based workforce planning, better medical workforce distribution and improvements to doctors’ health and wellbeing will also remain key priorities during my term.

We are looking forward to working with all doctors in training to achieve tangible change in these areas, and to build on the tireless work of my predecessor, Dr Tessa Kennedy, to ensure we maintain exceptional standards of medical training and enhance the professional and personal lives of doctors in training throughout all stages of their careers.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at to discuss any current and/or emerging issues in the training, work or wellbeing of doctors in training around Australia.

Dr Hash Abdeen

Chair, AMA Council of Doctors in Training