Service of doctors recognised once again in Honours List

Many hard-working, brilliant doctors have been honoured in this year’s Australia Day Honours List.

The Australia Day Honours list recognised more than 35 members of the AMA for their service to medicine and the community.

Clinical Associate Professor Saxon Smith AM was made a Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia. Dr Smith is a dermatologist who conducts complicated and often life-saving work for patients with specific needs associated with oncology, renal or neurological conditions.

Dr Smith is a former AMA NSW President and has served on the AMA Federal Council. In 2019, he was admitted as an AMA Fellow in response to his many years of service to medicine and the work of the AMA.

Dr Margaret Kay AM was also honoured as a Member of the Order of Australia. Dr Kay’s clinical and research areas of interest include doctors’ health and refugee health.

Dr Kay established the Refugee Health Network of Australia and was the inaugural medical director of the Queensland Doctors Health Program and was Chair of the Expert Advisory Committee to the national Doctors Health Program for several years.

Associate Professor Gino Pecoraro OAM received a Medal of the Order of Australia for his service to the community through his work as an obstetrician and gynaecologist, with a special interest in high-risk obstetrics.

A/Prof Pecoraro is the immediate past Board Chair of the Federal AMA and a former AMAQ President.

The AMA extends congratulations to all the doctors who have been honoured.




Professor Prithvipall Singh Bhathal

Dr Catherine Duncan

Associate Professor Robert Farnsworth 

Professor Prudence Francis 

Associate Professor Leeanne Grigg 

Dr Richard Harper

Professor William Heddle

Dr Geoffrey Herkes

Dr Margaret Kay

Professor Alfred Lam

Professor Helen Marshall 

Professor Peter Morley 

Clinical Associate Professor Saxon Smith 

Professor Elsdon Storey 

Professor Bronwyn Stuckey 

Professor Sandra Thompson 





Clinical Professor Catherine Birman 

Dr Marie-Frances Burke 

Dr Robert Edwards

Dr Louise Farrell 

Professor Cherrie Galletly

Professor Kurt Gebauer 

Dr Peter Gianoutsos 

Dr Stephen Godfrey 

Dr Denis Gordon 

Dr Matthew Gray 

Dr Kerry Hancock 

Professor Elizabeth McCusker 

Dr Bradley Murphy 

Dr Gino Pecoraro 

Dr Ramin Samali 

Dr Deborah Simmons 

Dr Harry Stalewski 

Mr Garry Davis 

Dr Conrad Winer 

Dr Furio Virant

Related topics