More AMA members receive Australia Day honours

We’ve updated our list of AMA members who were honoured in the 2024 Australia Day awards.

Congratulations to all the AMA members who were honoured in this year’s Australia Day awards, including Australian of the Year Professor Georgina Long AO.

The list includes Professor Kelvin Kong, Australia’s first Indigenous surgeon, who was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM).

The Honourable Dr Brian Pezzutti, a former member of the NSW Legislative Council and decorated Army Reserve officer, was also made a Member of the Order of Australia in recognition for his significant service to the NSW parliament and community health.

The AMA member award recipients are: 

Member of the Order of Australia - AM 

Medal of the Order of Australia - OAM 

Dr Brian Pezzutti, NSW

Associate Professor Kathleen Tymms, ACT 

Dr Glendon Farrow, NSW 

Dr Robin Fitzsimons, NSW 

Dr Peter Frederiksen, NSW 

Emeritus Professor Adrian Polglase, Vic 

Dr Anne Knight, NSW 

Associate Professor Matthew Chu, NSW 

Dr Christine Longman, VIc 

Emeritus Professor John Wark, Vic 

Dr Christine McConnell, Qld 

Professor Kirsten Auret, WA 

Dr Robert North, NSW 

Professor Chartlotte Hespe, NSW 

Dr Matthew Young, Qld 

Professor Kelvin Kong, NSW 

Dr David Stabler, Qld 

Associate Professor Felix Behan, Vic 


Associate Professor Graham Gumley, NSW 

Dr Robin Cooke, QLD