

The adoption of a new Constitution at the Annual General Meeting in May 2014 created a new governance structure for the company. A smaller governance Board responsible for corporate strategy, finances, and risk management was established in July 2014, following a transitional period.

The Board established, as one of its earliest priorities, a governance framework. The framework included a Board Charter and a Board Protocol. An Audit and Risk Committee was established with new terms of reference and an external member, Mr Ed Killesteyn PSM.

In late August 2014, the Board developed a strategic plan to guide the company over the coming three years. The strategic planning meeting was informed by a discourse on governance given by Henry Bosch AO.

The strategic plan is built on four pillars – advocacy, membership, financial security and flexibility, and organisational capability. An operational plan was adopted by the Board to provide a structure within which the agreed strategies can be implemented across the company.

During 2014 the company subsidiary, Australasian Medical Publishing Company Pty Limited which publishes the *Medical Journal of Australia* and the *Medical Directory of Australia*, also adopted a new Constitution and appointed a new Board. The Board has two external members, Mr Richard Allely (Chair) and Mr Rowan Dean. The AMA appointees are AMA Immediate Past President, Dr Steve Hambleton and Dr Elizabeth Feeney (Chair of the AMA Board).

In all, it has been a successful year in introducing major reforms which stand the company in good stead for the future.

Dr Elizabeth Feeney

Chair