## Dr Choong-Siew Yong, MBBS FRANZCP CertCAPsy FAMA

I am standing for Federal Council to further the interests of psychiatrists at a time when the profession is under threat by workforce issues, continued underfunding of mental health and lack of professional autonomy of consultant psychiatrists. I have promoted the cause of psychiatrists as a central, fundamental part of any modern mental health system, both in the public and private sectors. I am seeking election because despite our gains in the past years, psychiatry has never been under such threat from role substitution and governments seeking cost saving measures such as virtual psychiatric hubs. These threaten our ability to provide individualised, expert care for our patients and maintain clinical leadership in hospitals and services.

I have been a previous AMA office bearer and Psychiatry representative. As a Federal Councillor, I raised the profile of psychiatry in the AMA and established the AMA Psychiatrists' Group (AMAPG). I work in the public sector primarily with a small amount of private practice. I have long standing interests in medical ethics, doctors' health, asylum seeker health, professional development and medical workforce.

My aim as Psychiatry Federal Councillor is for the AMA to be a force in the planning and provision of psychiatrist-led care of mental health patients.

Current appointment:

Clinical Director, Child & Youth Mental Health, Northern Sydney LHD VMO, Murrumbidgee LHD

Previous appointments: Chair, NSW Doctors' Health Advisory Service Chair, Health Committee, NSW Medical Council Clinical Director, Child & Adolescent Mental Health Service, Hunter New England LHD

AMA appointments President, AMA (NSW) 2002-2004 Vice-President, AMA (Federal) 2005-2007 AMA nominee, Department of Immigration and Citizenship Detention Health Advisory Group, 2006-2013

RANZCP appointments Chair, Member Wellbeing Sub-committee 2024-present Chair, CEEMR (Education Evaluation), RANZCP 2017-2023 Chair, CME Committee, RANZCP 2010-2017 Deputy Chair, NSW Branch Committee, 2024-present.