

# Australian Medical Association Limited ABN 37 008 426 793

39 Brisbane Ave, Barton ACT 2600: PO Box 6090, Kingston ACT 2604 Telephone: (02) 6270 5400 Facsimile (02) 6270 5499

Website: www.ama.com.au



## DOCTORS RECOGNISED IN AUSTRALIA DAY HONOURS

The AMA has congratulated all its members named in this year's Australia Day Honours Awards.

More than 35 members of the Australian Medical Association have been recognised for their service to medicine and the community in today's Australia Day Honours list.

President of the AMA, Dr Omar Khorshid, said among them was Clinical Associate Professor Saxon Smith AM, who has been made a Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia.

Dr Khorshid said AMA Fellow Dr Smith is a dermatologist who conducts complicated and often lifesaving work for patients with specific needs associated with oncology, renal or neurological conditions.

"Dr Smith has served across several senior AMA roles. He was the AMA NSW President and served on the AMA Federal Council. In 2019, he was admitted as an AMA Fellow in response to his many years of service to medicine and the work of the AMA," Dr Khorshid said.

Dr Khorshid congratulated Dr Margaret Kay AM who has also become a Member of the Order of Australia.

Dr Kay's clinical and research areas of interest include doctors' health and refugee health.

"Dr Kay was the Chair of the Expert Advisory Committee to the national Doctors Health Program for several years. In this voluntary role she assisted delivery of a national service that encourages doctors to enrol with a General Practitioner to manage their own health," said Dr Khorshid.

Dr Kay personally treated other doctors through the program and has been a champion of doctors' health in the medical community and authored peer reviewed publications around increasing the medical profession's need to care for its own members.

The AMA also paid tribute to Associate Professor Gino Pecoraro OAM, who has received a Medal of the Order of Australia for his service to the community through his work as an obstetrician and gynaecologist, with a special interest in high-risk obstetrics.

A/Prof Pecoraro is the immediate past Board Chair of the Federal AMA and a former AMAQ President.

Dr Khorshid said: "On behalf of the AMA I extend congratulations to all the doctors who have been honoured today." AMA members honoured today include:

### AM:

Professor Prithvipall Singh Bhathal Dr Catherine Duncan Associate Professor Robert Farnsworth Professor Prudence Francis Associate Professor Leeanne Grigg Dr Richard Harper

# MEDIA RELEASE MEDIA RELEASE **MEDIA RELEASE**

Professor William Heddle

Dr Geoffrey Herkes

Dr Margaret Kay

Professor Alfred Lam

Professor Helen Marshall

**Professor Peter Morley** 

Clinical Associate Professor Saxon Smith

Professor Elsdon Storey

Professor Bronwyn Stuckey

Professor Sandra Thompson

### OAM:

Clinical Professor Catherine Birman

Dr Marie-Frances Burke

Dr Robert Edwards

Dr Louise Farrell

Professor Cherrie Galletly

Professor Kurt Gebauer

Dr Peter Gianoutsos

Dr Stephen Godfrey

Dr Denis Gordon

Dr Matthew Gray

Dr Kerry Hancock

Professor Elizabeth McCusker

Dr Bradley Murphy

Dr Gino Pecoraro

Dr Ramin Samali

Dr Deborah Simmons

Dr Harry Stalewski

Mr Garry Davis

Dr Conrad Winer

Dr Furio Virant