MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE AUSTRALIAN MEDICAL ASSOCIATION (ACT) LIMITED (ACN 008 615 778) HELD ON WEDNESDAY 9 MAY 2018 AT THE HOTEL REALM NATIONAL CIRCUIT BARTON, ACT COMMENCING AT 8.00 PM

1. WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS:

Prof Steve Robson, AMA (ACT) President welcomed members and guests to the 2017 Annual General Meeting.

2. PRESENT:

President and chair: Prof Steve Robson.

- Directors: Drs Antonio Di Dio, Andrew Miller and Iain Dunlop AM and Dr Elizabeth Gallagher.
- Members: Drs Balaji Bikshandi, Colin Andrews, Douglas Randell, Charles Howse, Peter Hughes, Rajeev Jyoti, Rajat Lahoria, Ramilla Varendran, Jenny Cooke, David Brand, Rob Ilbery, Ian Brown, Bill Coote, Diana Kirk, John Donovan, Chandi Perera, Maurizio Damiani, Walter Abhayaratna and Denise Kraus.

A quorum being present, the meeting proceeded.

In attendance: Peter Somerville, Tony Chase, Karen Fraser and Christine Neou.

3. APOLOGIES:

Apologies were received from:

Directors:Dr Suzanne Davey, A/Prof Jeff Looi and Dr Rashmi Sharma OAM.Members:Drs Peter Brown, Andrew Gordon, David Coles, Brian Richards, Tim
Greenway, Peter Black, David Ashton and Russell McGoldrick.

4. PROXIES:

No proxies were received.

5. GUEST SPEAKER:

Mrs Vicki Dunne MLA addressed the meeting and, at the conclusion of her address took questions.

Prof Robson thanked Mrs Dunne for her address and made a presentation to her.

6. MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD ON 31 MAY 2017:

Prof Robson referred members to the minutes of the 2016 AGM as circulated. On the motion of Dr Dunlop, seconded by Dr Di Dio, the minutes of the annual general meeting held on 31 May 2017 were confirmed.

7. BUSINESS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES: Nil.

8. PRESIDENT'S REPORT: Prof Steve Robson

Prof Robson reported on a busy year, dealing with issues at ACT Health including data reporting

and mental health, doctors' health and the issue of mandatory reporting and a range of issues dealing with general practice.

A focus has also been on greater engagement with junior doctors in regard to workplace relations and careers. 2017 also saw AMA (ACT) expand its workplace relations services generally and including assisting our members in private practice.

Prof Robson thanked the AMA (ACT) Board for their support, advice and assistance and similarly recognized the work done by the secretariat staff during 2017.

9. TREASURER'S REPORT and REPORT OF THE AUDITOR: Dr Andrew Miller

Dr Miller referred members to the financial reports as circulated and presented in the Annual Report distributed to the meeting, together with his report to the members.

Dr Miller advised that for the 2017 financial year, the company recorded a deficit from continuing operations of \$35,282 (2016 result \$5,708). The 2017 deficit had occurred despite a slight increase in total revenues from the 2016 levels, offset by larger increase in expenses.

The company expenses increased significantly to \$632,285 largely due to the strategic decisions to increase engagement with young doctors and to expand workplace relations services.

Income streams also increased but did not match the increase in expenses. Membership revenue and Canberra Doctor revenue increased slightly while sponsorship income increased significantly.

Dr Miller also reported on the sale of AMA House and the prior agreement for AMA (ACT) to enter into a lease of the current premises. This arrangement will appear in our accounts as a rent payment to the new owners of AMA House and then subsequently, as a rent reimbursement from AMA to AMA (ACT).

Dr Miller thanked Tanya Smith, Corporate Accountant and CEO, Peter Somerville for their attention to the completion of the 2017 financial reporting requirements.

Dr Miller moved that his report be received, seconded by Prof Robson and carried unanimously.

Dr Miller advised members present of the auditor's report and moved the the report be received, seconded by Prof Dunlop and carried unanimously.

10. PRESENTATION OF THE 2017 PRESIDENT'S AWARD: Prof Steve Robson

Prof Robson informed members that this award is presented annually to a person who, in the opinion of the President, has made a significant contribution to the Association and to the profession in the ACT and announced that the 2017 award was to be made to Dr Ailene Fitzgerald.

Dr Fitzgerald's citation reads:

For outstanding service to the ACT community and medical profession in the areas of trauma care and leadership.

Whether as a General/Trauma Surgeon, Director of ACT Trauma Services, as a surgical educator, caring for the welfare of junior medical staff or as regards her military service, Dr

Ailene Fitzgerald has shown an extraordinary commitment to her colleagues, the profession and the community.

Over her career, Dr Fitzgerald has given freely of her time to the ACT community, in particular advocating for a better Trauma Service to improve outcomes and care for the most seriously injured patients.

Dr Ailene Fitzgerald is an outstanding example for the medical profession in her commitment to and advocacy for, quality patient care.

11. PRESIDENTIAL INAUGURATION: Prof Steve Robson

Prof Robson presented Dr Di Dio with the chain of office and invited him to address the meeting.

Dr Di Dio paid tribute to Prof Robson's dedication and achievements over his term of office. He emphasized Prof Robson's public profile and advocacy on behalf of AMA (ACT) and its members and how much it was appreciated.

Dr Di Dio thanked the members present for the confidence they had shown in him and looked forward to the task ahead. He recognized the support he had received from family and friends and would, no doubt, continue to call upon that support during his term of office.

Dr Di Dio presented Prof Robson with a plaque to mark his term as president.

12. CLOSE OF MEETING: Prof Steve Robson

Prof Robson closed the meeting and thanked all those in attendance – board members, other members and staff for their efforts over the year and wished Dr Di Dio well for his upcoming presidency.

There being no further business the meeting closed at 9.30 pm.

Dr Antonio Di Dio Chair