AMA scholarship winners among latest group of indigenous medical graduates

18 Dec 2014

AMA President, A/Prof Brian Owler, this week congratulated all Indigenous medical graduates around the country, with special mention to Murray Haar and Gemma Johnston, both recipients of the AMA Indigenous Peoples’ Medical Scholarship.

“These wonderful doctors are now the pride of the medical profession and their communities, and role models for Indigenous Australians who want a career as a doctor or other health professional", A/Prof Owler said.

Murray and Gemma are among 20 Indigenous men and women to become doctors since the scholarship began in 1994, many of whom may not otherwise have had the financial resources to study medicine. A/Prof Owler said the AMA hopes that Murray and Gemma’s success will lead to more Indigenous medical students applying for the 2015 AMA Scholarship. 

Applications for the scholarship must be received by 30 January 2015. Scholarship recipients receive $10,000 each year for the duration of their course. To be eligible, applicants must be currently enrolled at an Australian medical school, and be in at least their first year of medicine. 

Information on how to apply for the 2015 AMA Indigenous Peoples’ Medical Scholarship.

Full media release.